

## **Environment Scrutiny Commission**

Tuesday 9 March 2021 6.30 pm

Online/Virtual. Members of the public are welcome to attend the meeting. Please contact FitzroyAntonio.williams@southwark.gov.uk for a link to the online meeting

# Supplemental Agenda

#### **List of Contents**

Item No. Title Page No.

#### 5. Low Traffic Southwark

Dale Foden, Head of Highways, and Sally Crew, Transport Policy Manager, will attend to update the commission.

Darren Farmer, Assistant Director of Operations - South East Area, London Ambulance Service NHS Trust, will attend to update on consultation on Low Traffic Neigbourhoods.

Parking briefing. In November the commission asked for a briefing on planned CPZs, parking permits and parking spaces, both on estates and street kerbside, by Ward. This is a follow up from the previous administrative year and linked to a recommendation in the previous air quality report that the kerbside ought to be considered a public amenity and repurposed for active travel.

### 6. Cabinet member interview with Cabinet Member for Leisure, Environment & Roads and Deputy Cabinet Member for Low Traffic Southwark

Interview with Cabinet member interview Cabinet Member for Leisure, Environment & Roads, Cllr Catherine Rose, with Deputy Cabinet Member for Low Traffic Southwark, Cllr Radha Burgess, in

Contact Julie Timbrell on 0207 525 0514 or email: julie.timbrell@southwark.gov.uk

Date: 8 March 2021

1 - 3

Item No. Title Page No.

attendance.

The cabinet members have been asked to provide:

- An update on the Low Traffic Southwark strategy, and how it seeks to address traffic volumes (and thus air quality) on main roads; the Movement Plan
- An update to date on Low Traffic Neighbourhoods (LTN) schemes funded by London Streetspace Programme (LSP) and the Guy's and St Thomas' Charity (GSTTC) Southwark Healthy Streets Programme; including piloting of air quality monitoring.
- An update on consultation with emergency services.

Their portfolios are attached.

Distribution List 20/21

#### **CIIr Catherine Rose**

#### Cabinet Member for Leisure, Environment & Roads

To promote leisure and sport in the borough and increase the quality of the borough's parks and green spaces. To ensure that the borough's streets are clean, and increase the number of people who use them on foot or by bike, making cycling genuinely accessible to all. Ensure residents can access high quality leisure services and promote play and leisure activities for young people. Working with the Cabinet Member for Public Health and Community Safety, increase physical activity and resident use of all our park and leisure spaces.

To be responsible for street scene and highway infrastructure, traffic management and parking enforcement. Lead on waste management, increasing recycling and reducing waste to landfill. Work with the Cabinet Member for Climate Emergency, Planning & Transport to promote sustainability and improve air quality, particularly around schools.

The cabinet member will have particular responsibility for:

- Leisure services
- Sport and physical activity (working with the Cabinet Member for Public Health & Community Safety)
- Parks
- Cemeteries and crematorium services
- Biodiversity & trees
- Flooding, flood defences & internal waterways
- Estate cleaning & grounds maintenance (working with the Cabinet Member for Housing)
- Waste & Recycling
- Ending single use plastics
- Fly-tipping
- Pest control
- Air quality
- Street scene and road safety
- Promoting equality and diversity in the public realm
- Street cleaning

- School streets
- Cycle parking and storage
- Electric vehicles infrastructure
- Parking

## **CIIr Radha Burgess**

## **Deputy Cabinet Member for Low Traffic Southwark**

- Increasing the proportion of Southwark's streets & estates dedicated to zero carbon, zero pollution uses
- Increasing cycling and walking
- Reducing traffic

## **ENVIRONMENT SCRUTINY COMMISSION**

## **MUNICIPAL YEAR 2020-21**

## AGENDA DISTRIBUTION LIST (OPEN)

**NOTE:** Original held by Scrutiny Team; all amendments/queries to Fitzroy Williams Tel: 020 7525 7102

Name No of copies	Name	No of copies
	Julie Timbrell, Scrutiny Team SPARES  External	10
Electronic Copy  Members		
Councillors:  Councillor Jason Ochere Councillor Graham Neale Councillor Tom Flynn Councillor Renata Hamvas Councillor Margy Newens Councillor Leanne Werner Councillor Adele Morris  Coopted member: Jeremy Leach		
Reserves Members  Councillor Richard Leeming Councillor Vikki Mills Councillor Sirajul Islam Councillor Peter Babudu Councillor Jack Buck	Total: 10 Dated: October 2020	